Hawks celebrate season successes at 2019 awards ceremony and banquet



The Huntsville Hawks 2019 banquet and awards ceremony was held Monday night at the Active Living Centre to recognize and celebrate the dedication and accomplishments of Hawks teams this season.

Three teams were honoured for winning the 2019 provincial championships in their divisions: the Hawks Bantam Box lacrosse team (pictured above) won the Bantam B Box Provincial Championships; the Hawks Midget Field lacrosse team won the U17 D Provincial Spring Field Championships with many players also playing on the Hawks Midget Box lacrosse team which won the Midget C Box Provincial Championships.

All three teams got to ride the float with a steel hawk in a short parade led by the Huntsville Fire Department down Main Street and Brunel Road to the Canada Summit Centre. Onlookers honked and cheered the teams on!

Huntsville Hawks Midget C Box Champions

Huntsville Hawks Midget C Box Champions

Huntsville Hawks U17 D Field champions

Huntsville Hawks U17 D Field Champions

The awards ceremony began with congratulations to all Hawk players, their families, coaches, and executive staff for such a successful season, from teams playing in the A loop to winning three championship banners.

The night reflected a sense of family as the coaches spoke about their team of players, their bench staff, the executive staff and the parents for all being a part of the Hawks lacrosse journey.

Great thanks was given to the Hawks organization and Hawks sponsors for another fantastic year.


Paperweights (Coach Jim Cowden, trainer Adam Renton) 

Every player received a small trophy:
Quinn Cameron – #1
Cooper Best #2
Ainsley Worrell #3
Wyatt Crozier #6
Nevin French #7
Sawyer Wilson #8
Thomas McDowall #10
Leto Terziano #11
Silas Cochrane #14
Calvin Shirtliff $15
Levi Seaman #16

Tyke (Coach Steve Perentesis)

1. Most Valuable Player: James Bulloch
2. Most Improved Player: Logan Sen
3. Most Dedicated Player: Ashley Neal & Avery Turner
4. Protective Hawk: Jared Allen
5. Sniper Hawk: Oren French
6. Flock Hawk: Sage Liadis

U11 (Coach Jon Quinlan)

1. Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Nick Lagendyk
2. Most Improved Player: Logan Sheppard
3. Coaches’ Choice: Liam Andrews

Novice, Minor (Coach Jeff Higgs)

1. Most Valuable Player: Brady Higgs
2. Most Improved Player: Owen Prentice
3. Most Dedicated Player: Carter Quinlan & Warren Neal

Novice, Major (Coach Kory Shirtliff)

1. Most Valuable Player: Braeden Woollings
2. Most Improved Player: Ryder MacKinnon
3. Most Dedicated Player: Carson Frasier

U13 (Coach Chad Pare)

1. Most Valuable Player: Walker Crawford
2. Most Improved Player: Tobin Spiers
3. Coaches’ Choice: Jaxon Crowder

Peewee (Coach Joe O’Halloran)

1. Most Valuable Player: Jake Reynolds
2. Most Improved Player: Ethan Shirtliff
3. Dave “Rusty” Russell Most Dedicated Peewee Award: Cohen Carlson

U15 (Coach Ross Clarke)

1. Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Daniel Clarke
2. Most Outstanding Offensive Player: Damon Buttus
3. Most Improved Player: Ethan Urbanski
4. Most Valuable Player: Walker Crawford

Bantam (Coach Ken Robins)

1. Most Valuable Player: Carson Robins & Kean Pare
2. Most Improved Player: Ethan Urbanski
3. Most Dedicated Player: Ethan Roos

The Russell Murdy Memorial Award for the “Bantam who demonstrates the love of the game”: Wyatt Fisher

U17 (Coach Jason Rudge)

1. Head, Heart & Hustle Award: Griffin Andrews
2. Most Improved Player: Brandon Foley
3. Most Valuable Player: Ayden Veitch

Midget (Coach Cory Veitch)

1. Most Valuable Player: Quinton Greenfield
2. Most Defensive/Best Transitional Player: Cole Lines
3. Most Dedicated Player: Ayden Veitch

The Jimmy Thompson Award for the “Midget who demonstrates the most enjoyment and dedication to the game” was awarded to Mitch Lines. Riley “Bougs” Knox received the Jim Meredith Award for Huntsville Minor Lacrosse Tournament MVP, Midget Provincial Championships.

The Kirk Evans Memorial Award for Most Inspirational Player was awarded to Ayden Veitch


The Elva Stinson Award for the person who embodies the spirit of lacrosse and lives for every aspect of the games was presented to Quinton Greenfield.

The Jim Bishop Award, presented by Gail Bishop for “outstanding contribution to the development of Minor Lacrosse”, was awarded to Clayton Earl. Clayton was not in attendance so his son Jake Earl accepted his award.

The President’s Choice Award for Most Outstanding Volunteer”: Coaches Cory Leigh & Dan Ferchat

Correction: A previous version of this story referred to the sculpture in the parade as an eagle. It should have read hawk.

Don’t miss out on Doppler!

Sign up here to receive our email digest with links to our most recent stories.
Local news in your inbox three times per week!

1 Comment

Leave a reply below. Comments without both first & last name will not be published. Your email address is required for validation but will not be publicly visible.