Major Midget and Bantam Rep Otters are both MPS Champions


It’s victory for the Huntsville MBRP Major Midget Otters as they are the 2018 MPS (Muskoka Parry Sound) Champions. The MPS tournament was held in Bracebridge from January 5 to 7, 2018.

In game one on Friday, Huntsville met South Muskoka at centre ice but the team could not pull out a win and lost 4-1. The Otters needed a warm up game under their blades before going all the way.

In Saturday’s games, the Otters were at their best, winning against Parry Sound 9-1 followed by a victorious moment for Huntsville as the team beat Haliburton 3-1 to secure a spot in the championship game.

Sunday was redemption day for the Otters. “The Otters came out as a team on a mission,” said team manager Amanda Jones. Their mission was accomplished as they played their way to a 3-1 win over the South Muskoka Bears and became the MPS Champs for 2018. Playing as a team makes champions, win or lose, added Jones. Congratulations coaches and players of the MBRP Major Midget Otters!

Team roster:
1 Tyler Miller – Goalie
20 Josh Lawson – Goalie
3 Adam Dupuis
4 Nock Coleman
5 Keiryn Morrison
7 Blake Schmitz
8 Nick Lavigne
9 Kyler Campbell
10 Ethan Murdy
12 Cam Aben
13 Josh Cormier
14 Chris Locke
15 Braiden Jones
16 Nathan Markle
17 Evan Dickson
18 Colin Jones
19 Conner White – Captain
Head Coach – Steve Vandenheuvel
Coach – Matt Clarke, Jon Clarke, Jon Dunn
Manager – Amanda Jones

The Tawingo Bantam Rep Otters are MPS Champs, too

The Tawingo Bantam Rep Otters are MPS Champs, too (supplied photo)

The Tawingo Bantam Rep Otters went undefeated all the way to the gold when they played in their MPS tournament in Minden last weekend.

In the team’s first game on Friday, January 5, they faced off against Parry Sound who are hard hitters but the Otters blocked them with a shut-out game, winning 2-0.

On Saturday, January 6, game two had the Otters meet the South Muskoka Bears. As in their first game, there was no denying the boys were skating at their best to win with a four point lead, 6-2.

Game three came just an hour later for the Otters. Huntsville was on a roll and led the scoreboard the entire game to achieve their second shutout of the tournament. They bested the Haliburton Storm 5-0.

The Otters finished their round robin games in first place but their work wasn’t done until the team had the trophy in their hands. The championship game against the South Muskoka Bears was goal for goal with the score tied 2-2 at the end of the third. Huntsville played with heart in the three-on-three overtime period to take the gold and the 2018 MPS Championship with a 3-2 victory. 

Team roster:
Owen Buczek – Goalie
Ty Wortman – Goalie
Dillan Turvey
Jesse Taylor
Ryley Digiacomo
Cole Lines
Ben Aben
Byron Wilder
Cole Punchard
Dakota Grant
Mitchell Lines
Cam Richardson
Tyler MacKinnon
Nate Johnson
Tysen Robb
Kalvin Crozier
Brayden Holman
Wes Farnsworth
Coaches: Jason Farnsworth, Mike Lines, Pat Hayes and Steve Wilder

Don’t miss out on Doppler! Sign up for our free newsletter here.


Leave a reply below. Comments without both first & last name will not be published. Your email address is required for validation but will not be publicly visible.