Know a Huntsville sports great? Nominate them for the Huntsville Sports Hall of Fame!


The Huntsville Sports Hall of Fame Committee is looking for nominees for induction into the Huntsville Sports Hall of Fame this year.

Do you know someone worthy of recognition for their contribution to sport in Huntsville? Nominate them! The nomination merely needs to include the nominee’s name, the sport they are involved in, brief details on why they should be in the Hall of Fame, and nominator’s name and contact information. Nominations must be submitted on or before April 19, 2017, and sent to Wendy McConnell, Chair HSHF Committee via email to [email protected]  or via mail to 79 Glencairn Cr, Huntsville ON,  P1H 2J4.

This years gala evening is June 3, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. in the Active Living Centre.

In 2016, John Cowan, Kenneth Donald, Don Thompson and Jon Burnside were inducted into the Huntsville Sports Hall of Fame. Other past inductees (to 2015) are:

BUILDERS:  Donald Lough*, Thomas Pinckard,  Dr. Deane Murdy Sr*.,  James Lumby*, Henry Tebby*, Royal Canadian Legion,  Garth Thomas*,  Randy Ellis, Peter Jacob,  Robert Hutcheson, Michael Greaves* ,  George Hoo,  Carl Nelson,  Ted Logan*,  Wendy McConnell ,  William (Bill)  Nickalls*,  Robert  McCulley, R. T. (Ginger) Davies*,  Aubrey (Aub)  Percival,  Roy MacGregor, Derek Mackesy, Stan Rimmington, Andy Cooke.

COACHES:    Marilyn Leigh ,  Douglas Leigh ,  James Bishop*, Mye Sedore*.

MANAGERS:   Laverne Reynolds*,  Dr. E.G. Evans*, William (Bill)  Muckler Sr., Charlie Murr*, Bob Adams.

ATHLETES:  Gail Cummings-Danson, Jack Bionda*, Patrick Brothers*, David Arnold  Andrew Longpre, John Clayton, James Higgs , C. Abbott- Conway*, James Meredith, Donald Stinson*,  Andrew  Mattice , Ivan Thompson,   Paul Kennedy, Ethan Moreau , Scott Hutcheson, Dara Howell, Daniel Roycroft, Shannon  Meunier  Tiffany Finley-Tszuki,  Donald McCormick, Robert Wild,  Murray Ruby, Brian Thompson,  Arthur Asbury*, Thomas Conlin, Ernest (Tann) Housser* , Gordon Middleton*, Evan Jenkins*,  George Snowden*, Gordon Leverton*, Kenneth Ward*,  Hattie Donaldson-Briggs* , Barry Webb,  Stan Rimmington

Don’t miss out on Doppler! Sign up for our free, twice-weekly newsletter here.


1 Comment

    WHO BECAME VERY WELL RESPECTED IN THE PGA GOLF CANADIAN TOUR PLAYER. OUT OF TORONTO ONT . HE HAS PLAYED ON THE CANADIAN PGA PRO.TOUR. FOR OVER 5 years . Etc. Been all over the world 🌎 re GOLF CLUB PRO .for 51 years … played with the best world known PGA tour pros. . I personally know & have played as guest in pro /Am. tournaments in the past . He has set a couple of golf course records in pro. Can/ tourny’s . In Toronto ont . Etc . PLEASE. THE LIST OF GARY’s Accomplishments goes on & On .. – And extremely interesting to any golfer … but most important he is from Huntsville ont . & Was raised at the Huntsville downs golf club. As his parents ran it for a number of years . He DESERVES TO BE HIGHLY CONSIDERED IN A LOT OF AREA GOLFERS OF HIS EXCELLENCY IN THAT SPORT .. PLEASE ….REPLY WITH AN ANSWER FOR CONSIDERATION. THANK YOU 😊 JOHN STOREY . ORILLIA ONT.

Leave a reply below. Comments without both first & last name will not be published. Your email address is required for validation but will not be publicly visible.